All posts by lvqgp2

YPS Newsletter May 2017

From Editor’s Desk

The major activity during April was to take our actions for paying Tribute to Shri. TNA Perumal to conclusion. The submission of entries to the Tribute to TNA Perumal contest was closed on April 20th. In all 1343 pictures were uploaded by 141 enthusiasts. Open judging was held at YPS on April 22nd. It was a great occasion to see all the judges at the venue, most of whom stayed on till the end of the day.

The final step in our efforts was to hold a solo exhibition-cum-sale of Shri. TNA Perumal’s pictures, the proceeds from which went to the family of Shri. TNA Perumal. The Exhibition was inaugurated on April 28th by Shri. K N Shantha Kumar, Chief Editor, Prajavani and by Shr. M N Jayakumar, Retired Chief PCCF. The exhibition was kept open for public till April 30th. The event was made possible by contributions from M/s. Sandur Manganese & Iron Ores Ltd. and M/s. Prism Giclee Prints. Many have contributed money to the well being of Shri. TNA Perumal’s family.

Also on display at the exhibition were the award winning images from the contest. Please check YPS Website for a complete account of YPS efforts to pay a fitting tribute to Shri. TNA Perumal.

Continue reading YPS Newsletter May 2017

Karnataka Tourism Photo Contest May 2017 – Karnataka Arts & Culture

Tourism Contest | Karnataka Arts & Culture | May 31

Karnataka is a bundle of distinct Arts and Culture practiced by Kannadigas, Tuluvas, Kodavas, Konkanis and more.

This contest provides you a wide field to play with. Karnataka is the home of many civilizations, many traditions and many cultures. The Art forms manifest in many ways, all designed to engage people and appease their senses. Some of the forms of Art that are visually appeasing are,

  • Local dance forms like Veeragase, Kamsale, Dollu Kunitha and other dance forms
  • Craft forms like the Dolls of Channapatna, Silk Weaving, Cloth making, Pot making and other forms local to Karnataka
  • Folk Theater like Yakshagana, Puppet Shows, Community Performances etc. are also local manifestations of Art

Culture takes other forms as well, like the local Customs and Rituals, Celebrations, Sports and other activities local to Karnataka. These are also candidates for this month’s theme.

Last date for submission is May 31st.

Submit Your Pictures ! Shoot to Fame !

To Lightroom or Not

YPS Meet | Apr 16 | Venkatappa Art Gallery

The questions on the minds of everyone who assembled at Venkatappa Art Gallery on Sunday evening to listen to Arjun were “Should I continue with Photoshop ? Should I switch to Lightroom ? How easy is it to switch to Lightroom ?”. Mr. Arjun Haarith started the presentation by addressing these basic questions. Continue reading To Lightroom or Not

Karnataka Tourism Contest results for Karnataka Landscapes has been published

The April 2017 Karnataka Tourism Photo Contest was held under the theme of “Karnataka Landscapes”. The contest has now concluded and the results have been published. The panel of judges met on May 3rd evening for judging at YPS office at the State Youth Centre along with YPS Executive Committee. YPS’ online salon judging system was used to assign scores and to review and finalize award winning images. Continue reading Karnataka Tourism Contest results for Karnataka Landscapes has been published

Shri. TNA Perumal’s memories are permanently etched in our minds

Tribute to Shri. TNA Perumal | Lingering Memories

We woke up with a Sunset on the morning of February 8th, 2017 when Shri Perumal passed away leaving a yawning gap. Talented, Knowledgeable, Simple, Approachable and Helpful, Shri. Perumal was loved by everyone without an exception. Losing such a great mentor was a great loss for YPS members and photographers all over India. Continue reading Shri. TNA Perumal’s memories are permanently etched in our minds

Own a Picture of Shri. TNA Perumal

YPS Event | Tribute to TNA Perumal Exhibition | Apr 28-30

Youth Photographic Society held an Exhibition, in tribute to Shri. TNA Perumal, for three days at Karnataka Chitrakala Parishat from April 28-30. This was a “Solo Exhibition” of coveted pictures of Shri. TNA Perumal in Black & White and in Color. A selected set of 48 pictures were printed in Archive Paper using Epson printer and were on display at the Exhibition. These pictures were also available for owning by photo lovers against a donation to Shri. TNA Perumal’s family.

For those of you who could not make it to the exhibition, here is an extended opportunity to own any of the 48 pictures of Shri. TNA Perumal that were on exhibition against a donation made to Shri. TNA Perumal’s Family. A minimum donation of RS.5000 per picture ordered is required. Donations above this amount are appreciated.

This facility will be open till May 15th, 2017. Continue reading Own a Picture of Shri. TNA Perumal

YPS International Digital Salon 2017 is now open

International Salon | July 25, 2017

YPS is pleased to announce the YPS International Digital Salon 2017. The Salon allows submissions under Monochrome Open, Color Open, Nature and Travel. The contest is open to amateur and professional photographers from around the world. Last date for submission is July 25, 2017.

Some of the highlights of YPS International Digital Salon 2017 are:

International Recognitions from PSA, FIAP & FIP

Over 70 Medals & Ribbons to be won

A wide choice of subjects to submit

A panel of internationally reputed jury

Fair and open judging

Salon Exhibition of winning images at Chitrakala Parishath

Completely on-line from registration to payment to upload

Ability to replace pictures till last date

Low Entry Fee and lower rates for Clubs and YPS Members

Compelling Sponsorship & Advertisement opportunities

Above all the Salon brings with it the rich experience of YPS in holding National and International Salons.

Participate TODAY !

Share with Friends !

Share with Businesses looking for Opportunities

Start now ! Register yourself !