Karnataka Tourism Photo Contest – Mar 2017 – Temples of Karnataka Results

The March 2017 Karnataka Tourism Photo Contest was held under the theme of “Temples of Karnataka”. The contest has now concluded and the results have been published. The panel of judges met on April 4th evening for judging at YPS office at the State Youth Centre along with YPS Executive Committee. YPS’ online salon judging system was used to assign scores and to review and finalize award winning images.

Judges for the March 2017 Contest

Shri. K S Rajaram, AFIAP, Vice President, YPS Rajaram is the Vice President of YPS and Founder Director of Sagara Photographic Society. He has been on the panel of Jury, for Salons of IIPC, YPS, Sonica, Vishwavani and SPS. He teaches and organizes of Photography Workshops for YPS, SPS, KVS Aaptha Samuha, Jnanadeepa, Ninasam Institute and Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan. Mr. Rajaram has also delivered Special Lectures at Cork Photography Club, Corigline Photographic Society Ireland and Irish Photo News-Dublin. His articles on photography are regularly published in Navakarnataka Publications, Udayabhanu Kalasangha, Udayavani, Vijayavani, Prajavani and Kannadaprabha Publications.
Shri. Murali K Kumar, Special News Photographer, THE HINDU The effervescent Mr. Murali Kumar joined THE HINDU as Dark Room Assistant in 1997 and had steadily progressed to become Special News Photographer today. As a photojournalist, he has covered many historic events like ISRO Moon Mission, Mars Mission and Namma Metro. He also developed a photo story on Child Labour in Bellary Minning for Frontline. In addition, he had covered many sports events like Common Wealth Games in Delhi 2010, WTA Royal Indian Open 2012, Asian Athletics Championships in Pune 2013, Football Federation Cup in Goa 2015 and South Asian Games in Guwahati 2016. His hobbies are Travelling, Bird Watching, Wildlife Photography and Music.
Shri. Shankar Subramanian, Travel Photographer Shankar is a passionate photographer with a keen interest in Travel Photography. He has traveled extensively in India and abroad. His photographs from Rajasthan, Mathura and Allahabad have won him international recognitions from International Photography Awards, International Color Awards and Black and White Spider awards. He has exhibited his pictures in some of the prestigious galleries in India and many of his pictures have sold multiple prints. He has mentored many aspiring photography enthusiasts through his photography group “Thank God It’s Saturday” (TGIS). He is also a member of the International Fellowship of Rotarian Photographers, India Chapter.

Hearty Congratulations to Winners


In Banavasi by Mr. V D Bhat


Aerial view of Virupaskha by MR. Arjun Haarith

Sharadhamba Temple by MR. Naveen Kumar

Ibrahim Rauza: The Black TAJ by Mrs. Hema Narayanan

St Lawrence Basilica by Mr. Flavin Glenson D’Souza


– YPS Member

Hearty Congratulations to all the Winners. We appreciate the enthusiasm exhibited by the participants.